Linux: Load exportfs first
authorSimon Wilkinson <sxw@inf.ed.ac.uk>
Fri, 16 Jul 2010 20:58:33 +0000 (21:58 +0100)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Fri, 16 Jul 2010 21:14:47 +0000 (14:14 -0700)
The changes to use the exportfs interface to access cache files
require that the exportfs module is loaded before our module.

In 'normal' operation depmod, and modprobe, would take care of
this for us, however our legacy installation format where we
ship the kernel module outside of /lib/modules stops modprobe from
working, and our init script uses insmod. So, explicitly load
exportfs first.

Note: I'm aware of just how much this sucks, and the fact that we
really should just tidy up all of the packaging and init scripts
around our kernel module - but this close to 1.6 branch is probably
not the time for those kinds of changes.

Change-Id: Icdc11482f4eb05419a806a2cd55852eaa5999638
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/2443
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Tested-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>

src/afsd/afs.rc.linux

index 579034c..0833c18 100644 (file)
@@ -201,6 +201,11 @@ load_client() {
                exit 1
        fi
 
+       # We need exportfs in order to access the cache files. Load it, but
+       # ignore errors as on some machines it may be built in to the kernel,
+       #┬ánot a module
+       /sbin/modprobe exportfs >/dev/null 2>&1
+
        if [ -f $KSYMS_FILE ]; then
                # use the prefix command if required
                case $KERNEL_VERSION in