namei: Calculate offset before use in GetFreeTag 54/14654/2
authorAndrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Fri, 29 May 2020 19:22:34 +0000 (14:22 -0500)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Sat, 26 Jun 2021 01:55:14 +0000 (21:55 -0400)
We pass 'offset' to FDH_LOCKFILE here, but 'offset' is calculated a
few lines below. The compiler doesn't catch this, since FDH_LOCKFILE
is a macro that ignores the second argument (except on WINNT).

Just move the calculation a few lines above, to ensure 'offset' is set
before it's actually used, to avoid issues if and when FDH_LOCKFILE is
changed to use the second argument.

Change-Id: If858005cb83370ca905f93f9d3d7eed2941ddf99
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.openafs.org/14654
Reviewed-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>

src/vol/namei_ops.c

index c493fa5..f9dd4e5 100644 (file)
@@ -1629,14 +1629,14 @@ GetFreeTag(IHandle_t * ih, int vno)
     if (fdP == NULL)
        return -1;
 
+    offset = (vno << LINKTABLE_SHIFT) + 8;     /* * 2 + sizeof stamp */
+
     /* Only one manipulates at a time. */
     if (FDH_LOCKFILE(fdP, offset) != 0) {
        FDH_REALLYCLOSE(fdP);
        return -1;
     }
 
-    offset = (vno << LINKTABLE_SHIFT) + 8;     /* * 2 + sizeof stamp */
-
     nBytes = FDH_PREAD(fdP, (char *)&row, sizeof(row), offset);
     if (nBytes != sizeof(row)) {
        if (nBytes != 0)